top of page

Beach Reflections : Reflexiones de la Playa

I find serenity at the beaches in Ghana. My hair is full of life soaking in the sea breeze and humidity. The ebb and flow of the crashing waves is calming as I sit under a towering palm, reading Toni Morrison’s Beloved. I resonate with the natural space around me and wonder if my connections run deeper than this moment.

The beaches in Ghana help me reflect on the hardships the ocean before me once brought countless ancestors of mine. A brutal history stares in my face. Is this where we are from? Was this the last stretch of familiarity? Am I standing at the junction of the most pain​​ful severing and a relaxing tropical holiday?

I am grateful to be back in Ghana, to reconnect with that once lost. I pray to the ancestors and the lives they endured so I could be here - grounded in this sand a world away from familiarity.

Song: Yemaya

By: Celia Cruz

 

Yo encuentro la serenidad en las playas en Ghana. Mi pelo está tomando el sol y la brisa marina. El reflujo y el flujo de las olas chocantes me tranquiliza mientras me siento bajo una palma alta leyendo Beloved de Toni Morrison. Yo encuentro eco en el espacio natural y me pregunto si mis conexiones son más profundas que este momento. La playas de Ghana me ayuda reflexionar sobre la dificultad del mar enfrente de mi una vez traía el sufrimiento a mis antepasados. Una historia brutal me mira fijamente.Somos de Ghana? Fue el último tramo de la familiaridad? Estoy en una encrucijada de la ruptura más dolorosa y unos vacaciones tranquilos?

Estoy agradecido de estar en Ghana y reconectar con lo que perdimos. Yo rezo a los antepasados y las vidas que aguantaban para yo podría existir, basada en la arena un mundo extranjero.

Canción: Yemaya

Por: Celia Cruz

bottom of page