top of page

Adventures from Makola : Las Aventuras de Makola

Makola Market is one of the largest markets in Ghana. It is bustling with energy- hundreds of people navigating the crowds, whiffs of drying fish, the sizzling of plantain frying, blazing heat, and endless choices to buy. It’s like the Times Square of Ghana – overwhelming, but fun. Like NYC, you have to move with the crowd and stay focused, otherwise…you will get distracted at your wallet’s misfortune. I personally like to go with a friend who is more familiar with the market’s layout to lead the way through and I stick to her like glue, unless a small herd of goats separates us.

I love the colorful trays overflowing with waist beads and skyscrapers of fabric. I try to snap a few quick pictures without losing my friend, ugh blurry. I quickly duck under a 6ft long copper pipes a young man effortlessly carries on his shoulders then maneuver around a woman lifting at least 30 pounds of onions perfectly balanced her head. I try to stay focused on my friend amongst the shuffling. I admit I get distracted when we walk through rows of fabrics and trims; “Do I really want to make pants next? Or maybe that elastic belt would make a great flared skirt? Oh that silk would be a beautiful blouse perhaps? AFFIA!?! AFFIA!?”

When we finally reach an enclave of hand-batiked fabric, the real work begins. I dig through piles of fabrics for the perfect combination of colors and prints. There are no mirrors in sight. I snap selfies with the fabric against my skin to help visualize my next dress or romper. After much deliberation, I’ll eventually make a decision about which fabrics I will ACTUALLY take home. The auntie selling often starts with an ‘obruni’ price far above the actual and so begins the negotiating theatrics ‘oh I beg, auntie – me pacho’, until we finally arrive at the FINAL price. YES! Worn out and exhausted, I try to find coconut water to cool off before leaving the market in a taxi. I am happy with my bargaining skills and new purchase (soon-to-be-a-dress), but once I sit down it’s lights out.

Song: SkeleWu By Davido

 

El Mercado de Makola es uno de los más grandes en Ghana. El mercado está llena de energía – cientos de personas navegando por las multitudas, el olorcillo de pescado secando, el chisporrotear del maduro, el sol ardiente y las infinitas opciones para comprar. Personalmente, me gusta ir al mercado con una amiga más familiarizada con los caminos y me quedo junto a ella a menos que un rebaño de cabras nos separa.

Me encanta las bandejas vibrantes rebosantes de granos y los rascacielos de las telas. Yo trato de tocar una foto sin perdiendo mi amiga – borrosas. Yo agacho rápidamente debajo de un tubo de cobre largo que un joven lleva en sus hombros y luego maniobro alrededor de una mujer con casi treinta libras de cebollas sobre su cabeza. Yo trato de enfocar en mi guía entre el shuffle. Yo admito que conseguir distraída mientras caminamos a través de las filas de telas. “¿Quiero coser pantalones? ¿O quizás voy a bordar con lentejuelas? ¿¡AFFIA?! ¿¡AFFIA?!

Finalmente llegamos a un enclave de las telas de batik hechos a mano y el trabajo comienza. Yo cavo a través de pilas de telas buscando por la combinación perfecta de colores y estampados. No hay espejos acá. Yo tomo un selfie con mis telas escogidas contra mi piel a visualizar mi próximo vestido o jumpsuit o falda. Después de mucha deliberación, yo eventualmente decido las cuales voy a comprar. La tía que se vende las telas inicia con un precio gringo - tan alto. Y empezamos las negociaciones “Te lo suplico – Me pacho” hasta que llegamos a un precio más justo. ¡FINALMENTE! Estoy agotada, yo busco el agua de coco para refrescarme antes de salgo en un taxi. Estoy contenta con mi compra (que pronto será un vestido) y después de yo siento ya estoy durmiendo.

Canción: Skelewu Por Davido


bottom of page