top of page

Tejiendo Food

The diaspora reconnects to West African through our food. Despite the time and distance between our ancestors leaving the continent and our current predicament, much of our food still holds deep African roots. It makes me wonder if these foods once served as comfort foods for my ancestors that were forced from their homes. And if cooking became a solace of survival to creatively preserve elements of a lost home.

Whether I am with my family eating sancocho in Colombia or black eyed peas in Virginia, these meals leave remnants of Africa at our tables centuries later. I realized in Accra how similar the stables of food were between my families in the Americas and Ghana. When I travel around Ghana I love eat red red, a tomato-based stew made with black eye peas and ginger or kelewele, a fried ripe plantain coated in ginger and pepper. The combination of flavors introduced to me in Ghanaian recipes was new, but there was also a distant familiarity in the ingredients being used to cook the food. I could taste the similarities and know that many of the foods I was raised eating had distinct West African origins and elements.

Foods that I thought of as uniquely Southern or Colombian were actually a fusion of ingredients and styles of cooking many of which originated from West Africa. In the American South, it is common to find peanuts, greens, black eyed peas, okra, and sweet potato in soul food. On the other side of Americas, many Latin American families consider plantain, cassava, coffee, and tamarind to be staple foods. Yet these foods were all first brought to the Americas on slave ships from Africa and continue to be commonly used in West African cuisine today. It is common to find jollof rice on every corner of Accra as it is to find Jambalaya in New Orleans. Ghanaian okro stews share elements with the gumbo from the American South. Pounding fufu is very similar to pounding mofongo. My southern family would be skeptical of a peanut based soup with meat as would my Ghanaian friends about fried green plantain, but we eat all these ingredients already just prepared very differently. It is fun for me to exchange recipes and learn from one another about how to expand my understanding of the origins of my cooking.

 

La diaspora reconecta a África por su comida. A pesar del tiempo y la distancia entre nuestros antepasados saliendo del continente y el predicamento presente, mucha de nuestra comida sostiene profundamente nuestras rutas Africanas. Me hace preguntar si alguna vez estas comidas fueron para la comodidad de mis antepasados que fueron forzados de sus casas. Y si cocinar se convirtiera en un solacio para sobrevivir creativamente a preservar los elementos de una casa perdida.

No importa si estoy comiendo un sancocho en Colombia o los guisantes de ojos negros en Virginia, estas comidas dejan los restos de África en nuestras mesas siglos después. Me di cuenta que en Accra lo similar los establos de mi familia fueron en América y en Ghana. Cuando estoy viajando en Ghana, me encanta comer el red red, un guisado del tomate, el jengibre y los guisantes de ojos negros o kelewele, un maduro dulce cubierto con jengibre y pimiento. La combinación de sabores presentada a mi en recetas ghanés era nueva, pero había también una familiaridad lejana en los ingredientes para cocinar la comida. Pronto me di cuenta de los alimentos que me crié comiendo tenía elementos y orígenes distintos de África occidental.

Alimentos que pensé como único sur o colombiano fueron realmente una fusión de ingredientes y estilos de cocinar muchos de los cuales se originaron desde el oeste de África. En el sur de Estados Unidos, es común encontrar cacahuetes verdes, guisantes eyed negro, okra y patata dulce en los alimentos del alma. En el otro lado de América, muchas familias de América Latina consideran plátano, yuca, café y Tamarindo que alimentos de primera necesidad. Sin embargo estos alimentos todos primero trajeron a las Américas en barcos de esclavos de África y continuará siendo utilizado comúnmente en la cocina africana occidental de hoy. Es común encontrar arroz jollof en cada esquina de Accra como es encontrar jambalaya en Nueva Orleans. Ghanés okro guisos comparten elementos con el gumbo del sur americano. Golpeando el fufu es muy similar a golpear mofongo. Mi familia sur sería escéptico de un cacahuate en sopa con carne como sería mis amigos ghanés sobre plátano verde frito, pero comemos todos estos ingredientes diferentes. Es divertido para mí intercambiar recetas y aprender uno del otro para expandir mi conocimiento de origen cocinar.


bottom of page